2017 AIA Buffalo/WNY Scholarship

The American Institute of Architects Buffalo/WNY chapter and Buffalo Architecture Foundation are proud to announce the 2017 scholarship award winners. The scholarship supports local architecture students from within the chapter region as they embark on the path to licensure through the pursuit of a professional architecture degree.

The 2017 AIA Buffalo/WNY Scholarship is partially funded by the collection of chapter Allied Membership dues and programming fees from such events as the annual Architecture Awards and the Architecture 5K Run. The program is open to students who have completed at least one year of coursework in a NAAB accredited or candidacy program and are enrolled in an eligible school. 

This year’s winners demonstrated a strong commitment and passion for architecture, with their notable academic achievements and community volunteerism. The scholarship committee selected three recipients pursuing architecture studies in the 2017/2018 academic year.  Award winners are:

Dylan Burns, a Buffalo native, is pursuing dual Master of Architecture and Master of Urban Planning degrees at the University at Buffalo. Dylan is a WNY Prosperity Fellow, a Presidential Scholar, a recipient of the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence and graduated Summa Cum Laude from UB with a Bachelor of Science in Architecture. He has participated in the U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon, volunteered for Habitat for Humanity, and been a participant in the US-UK Fulbright Commission Summer Institutes.

Justina Dziama was born and raised in Buffalo, New York. She is currently pursuing a Dual Masters in Architecture at the University at Buffalo and Media Architecture at the Bauhaus Universitat Weimar in Germany. She has taught Freshman Architecture studio as a graduate teaching assistant at UB and has worked for Architectural Practice Davidson Rafailidis. She was involved in the Indeterminacy Festival designing and fabricating a series of inflatable spaces in collaboration with Stanzi Vaubel.

Rebecca Sultz is a fourth-year architecture student at Penn State currently pursuing degrees in architecture, history and the history of architecture. She is a recipient of Penn state’s Provost Scholarship and the Richard L. Grube Scholarship Endowment in Architecture. Rebecca plans to specialize in interior architecture and architectural renovation. She is a proud member of Penn State’s AIAS chapter and is thrilled to be chosen as an AIA Buffalo / WNY Scholarship recipient.

In addition to the recipients of the AIA Buffalo/WNY Scholarship, we are proud to partner with the UB School of Architecture + Planning in recognizing Elizabeth K. Gilman, a junior in the architecture program as the recipient of the AIA/UB Undergraduate Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded annually to a department selected student who has demonstrated outstanding academic and architectural talent and comes with a $2,000 monetary prize.

If you would like to support the chapter scholarship programs please contact Yadira DeSantis at info@AIABuffaloWNY.org for additional information.

2017 AIA Buffalo/WNY Scholarship Recipients

2016 AIA Buffalo/WNY Scholarship Recipients

2015 AIA Buffalo/WNY Scholarship Recipients

2014 AIA Buffalo/WNY Scholarship Recipients